The body which, along with the Rector, has responsibility for running all aspects of congregational life is the Vestry. The Vestry is responsible not only for the fixtures and fittings and finances, but also for the mission and ministry of the congregation and our ongoing vision. They also act as Trustees for the church as a charity.

The Vestry is made up of up to 13 voting members. Between 3 and 6 members (V) who are elected at the AGM to serve for a period of three years, two of which are often given to a member of the YF and YC leadership teams. Plus up to an additional seven members ex officio (X). Members can hold more than one of these positions and be both an ex-officio (X) position and be an elected individual (V) for example the positions of secretary and treasurer could be combined.

The ex officio posts are the Rector, the Secretary and Treasurer (who are elected by the Vestry), the Rector’s Warden (appointed each year at the AGM by the Rector), the People’s Warden and the Lay Representative (both elected each year at the AGM by the congregation). An Alternate Lay Rep is elected by the congregation each year who also accompanies the Lay Rep to Area Council, a collection of Episcopal churches in our local area (Fife Cluster). They can then be nominated to Diosecan Synod and then from their representatives are sent to the Provincial Synod.

For more information on how the Vestry operates head to our Provincial Website.

Vestry Members

X1RectorThe Rev’d Lara Dose 
X2Rector’s WardenDavid Dean
X3People’s WardenFiona Barcroft
X4TreasurerJim Myles
X5SecretaryJames Barcroft
X6Lay RepLinda Brownlie
X7Alt. Lay RepRichard Peat
V1Vestry MemberJim Myles
V2Vestry MemberAndrew Wedge (Youth Fellowship)
V3Vestry MemberDorissia Forsyth
V4Vestry MemberIsabelle Pottinger
V5Vestry MemberCaroline Mitchell
V6Vestry MemberAudrey Ricks
The current elected Vestry (Dec 2023)

Additional Roles

Additional Roles can also be allocated to either Vestry Members (V) or Non Voting Attendees (NVA) who are regularly/infrequently invited to vestry meetings in an official capacity. These include but are not limited to Young Church Rep, Youth Fellowship Rep, Property & Maintenance Coordinator, PVG Coordinator and Administrator (who takes vestry minutes) and additional roles will usually be highlighted in brackets. Curates or members of the ministry team may also be invited regularly as Non Voting Attendees (NVA). Other groups or individuals may be invited to attend to talk about key issues or projects but will usually only be invited to part of the meeting. Whilst vestry meetings are open some business in relation to personal data or finance will be closed. *Currently our administrator is also People’s Warden but will not be allowed to vote on matters related to their own role.

Non Voting Attendees

NVA1Administrator Fiona Barcroft*
NVA2PVG CoordinatorAndrew Morris
NVA3Property & MaintenanceCurrently Vacant
NVA4CurateCurrently Vacant
Regular attendance in an official capacity